CHOICES

On this ride I like to call life you learn to love, laugh and be happy through the good times and oftentimes through the bad as well. However, also on this ride of life, some learn anger, hate, and bitterness. Whatever it is, it’s a CHOICE. I grew up in a household where no matter what went on we CHOSE to love and be happy. Yes, there were some rough times some worse than others but I am so thankful that through it all God gave us joy, even when we think we didn’t deserve it. My mother had a rough past, but I am also thankful that God does not let your past define who you are or your future. Although my mom did not have a great relationship with her mom I am who I am today because she saw where her mother went wrong and decided that she would not let her kids live through that. Because of her CHOICE to live in joy and love and not in anger or hate, we were able to grow up experiencing the best love we can get from a mother. Life is all about CHOICES and how you CHOOSE to live it. True, my mom didn’t make the best choices in life, but that should never be the main focus for a single parent. When a persons relationship failures are the main focus it can make the child feel like the divorce or end of relationship was their fault or that they are an accident. I have now learned to be grateful for the CHOICES my mom made, not only when she was younger but to this day. If it wasn’t for her being 100 (completely honest) with us all of the time I wouldn’t have seen how strong my mom actually is. We are stronger and healthier because of her CHOICE to live a happy life and capture memories with us as opposed to sulking in her misery because of her past. I am also grateful for the open relationship I have with her, and because of our relationship, the feeling of not belonging and the CHOICE of having that hatred towards people in my own life is no longer there. Make the CHOICE now to just love through it all, through the good, the bad, and the ugly. Remember no matter what you CHOOSE your children are always watching and copying not only your actions but your emotions. ~ Taylor Coleman-Sims

c58e438a0ff151486b58715c694b0491

Psalm 28:7  The LORD is my strength and shield. I trust him with all my heart. He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy. I burst out in songs of thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

