Pay It Forward

Recently my children and I attended a fun filled afternoon of food, go carts and fun to celebrate a good friends birthday.   This friend treated my boys and I to his birthday festivities, that’s right I said ‘his birthday!’  When I offered to pay him back monies spent, he refused and instead advised me to ‘pay it forward (if/when the opportunity presents itself).’.

 I began to ponder on this and thought, what if many in the world did this consistently, using just what they currently had?  The world would definitely be a much better place than when we arrived on it.

 You may say, ‘I don’t have monies, or anything to give.’  To that I say ‘Give your time, a listening ear, a smile, or a hug.’

 You may say, ‘I don’t know anyone who needs a blessing.’ To that I say ‘ Go ask around and find someone.’

 You may say, ‘ I have my own issues to deal with.’  To that I say ‘Trust and believe there is someone going through much more than you can ever even imagine.’

 Little do we realize that when we connect and share with others we are offered a chance to help lessen someone else’s’ burden, therefore lessening our own in the process.  This can also give us a very deep sense of gratitude for what we currently have or are going thru as we often have no idea of what loads others are carrying.

 The next time this opportunity presents itself, remember that you have something to offer others and are here on this planet for something more than just the pleasure to please yourself. ~ Stacy McClendon

In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive”. ACTS 20:35

Leave a Reply

