What Would You Say?

If you could go back and have one conversation with your younger self, what would you say???

If I could go back to my younger self I’d tell her to never stop smiling. Her smile is bright and brilliant and encourages others to simply smile… I would explain that one day the joy of The Lord will replace every moment of pain. I’d tell her to be patient with herself, she isn’t expected to get it perfectly right and every set back will serve a phenomenal purpose. I’d tell her to forgive and let the offense go because time goes by too quickly and before she knows it, the years will have passed and she will have lost valuable relationships. If I had the opportunity to talk with my younger self, I’d tell her that it wasn’t her fault… She deserved to enjoy the innocence of her childhood and it was others who took it from her. I would tell her she is beautiful, not because of the color of her skin or the texture of her hair, but because she was created in the image of God and what others thought of her appearance was only a reflection of what they thought of themselves. I would tell her to keep writing, one day this emotional outlet will become a passion and will reveal itself to be a gift from God to encourage and inspire others…

If I could talk to that precious girl, I would tell her that she is fearless and resilient… I would hold her tight and help her understand that with every heartbreak  she will become stronger, eventually enabling others to find their own strength as well. But most of all, I would tell her to hold onto that dream in her heart of loving others the way she wishes to be loved because before she knows it, she will be living out that dream… She will meet her Savior and He will love her in ways she never imagined and through that love, she will have the capacity to love others.

I stand here today as a testimony to “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose” Romans 8:28 ~ DeShawne

5ea04557d66cac67b6a0aa25c9077740

Leave a Reply

