Change Starts With a Decision

Last week I went into the doctors for an aching Achilles Tendon. While there I discovered I have a very common condition called tendinitis.  I am a Google fanatic so I had already researched all the possibilities and knew that with proper stretching and anti-inflammatory on the onset of pain, tendinitis is very manageable. I was supposed to get some blood work done back in January but I procrastinated (it has nothing to do with my fear of needles lol) so I decided to take care of that while I was here. I went in, had my blood drawn and left. The next day the results were in. My blood sugar levels are good (thank you Jesus!!), my blood count looks fine… I am doing pretty good, I thought… Then I get my cholesterol numbers… My good cholesterol is decent but my bad cholesterol is a little higher than normal. In that moment reality hit me… I was no longer the young woman who could neglect proper nutrition and consistent exercise and have no immediate consequences. I am now a middle aged woman who has to incorporate healthier habits into my full life.

If you’re anything like me, news like this becomes overwhelming simply because it becomes another “thing to do”. Now, in addition to raising my children, working a full time job, serving in several ministries at church and being on the PTA board, I also have to make sure I am eating healthy, well balanced meals throughout the day and fitting in time to exercise. Yes, this was my initial thought, but what God has been trying to show me for quite sometime now is that, in order to do all those things on my “to do list” I must first care for myself. Just as it is impossible to do those things without filling my spirit with His life giving word and His strength, it is impossible to function everyday without filling my body with His life giving food and strengthening myself through consistent exercise. In addition to caring for myself, I need to ensure that I am setting an example for my children. If I train them up with the understanding that their bodies are a temple for the Holy Spirit then when they are older they will make choices that honor their bodies and our God. “Don’t you realize that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, who lives in you and was given to you by God? You do not belong to yourself.” 1 Corinthians 6:19

Yesterday I had the honor of hearing an amazing speaker, A.R. Bernard (if you haven’t heard him, look him up… you won’t regret it). One thing he said that hit me was “change begins with a decision”. I can say all day long, “I am going to change”, but nothing actually changes until I make the decision to do things differently. I made a decision yesterday, I decided to no longer make excuses for why I can’t meal plan or exercise and I decided to just do it… I planned and prepared our lunches and snacks and I brought my gym shoes with me so I can go on a nice walk during my lunch break.

These aren’t major life changes… there are still cookies in my house (baby steps, don’t judge me lol) but they are changes and today I feel empowered (through the Holy Spirit) to continue to make the decision to live a fully abundant life “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.” John 10:10

If you haven’t been to the doctors in quite some time, I highly recommend making an appointment. If you don’t have insurance and you’re in the Los Angeles area, there are some free or low-cost resources below… If you’re not in Los Angeles, dial 211 or Google “free clinic”. I have also listed some amazing healthy eating blogs below… If you are ready to choose a healthier lifestyle, then just make the decision to do so and make choices based on your decision… and if you fall, no worries… just get back up and keep moving forward… This is not a sprint, it is a marathon. ~ DeShawne

Free Medical Care

http://www.unitedcaremedical.com/services/free-services/physical-exam/

http://freeclinicdirectory.org/california_care/los_angeles_ca_county.html

Free/Low Cost Workouts

http://www.timeout.com/los-angeles/fitness/yoga-classes-by-donation-and-free-yoga-in-los-angeles

http://www.baldwinhillscrenshawplaza.com/info/bfit

Healthy Eating Blogs

http://www.thebettermom.com/bi-weekly-meal-plans/

http://www.snack-girl.com/

http://www.fingerlickinkitchen.com/

Leave a Reply

